Advisory Board

Dr. Melchor J. Antuñano

Melchor J. Antuñano, M.D., M.S. is Director at the FAA Civil Aerospace Medical Institute.
Melchor was the recipient of the 2010 Louis H. Bauer Founders Award for his highly distinguished, internationally recognized expertise in aerospace medicine. He has led and managed teams of aeromedical specialists in the generation, administration, and promulgation of national and international aeromedical planning and policy, and holds senior leadership positions with numerous international aeromedical organizations. He has provided critical subject matter expertise to a host of high-visibility committees and working groups and is a prolific author and much sought-after speaker. He continues to be a principle promoter of international collaboration in aerospace medicine and flight safety, and has been recognized by numerous government and non-government aerospace organizations worldwide.
He is currently the Director of the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Civil Aerospace Medical Institute (CAMI) in Oklahoma City. He provides executive direction and is responsible for the administration of the FAA Office of Aerospace Medicine’s programs in Medical Certification, Medical Education, Medical Research, Human Factors Research, and Occupational Health Services.
He was born in Mexico City and is a graduate of the National Autonomous University of Mexico School of Medicine. He completed the Residency Program in Aerospace Medicine at Wright State University in Dayton, OH. He was awarded a post-doctoral research associateship by the U.S. National Research Council of the National Academy of Sciences at the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine in San Antonio, Texas.
Melchor is credited with 522 professional presentations and invited lectures at national and international conferences in aerospace medicine in 31 countries, and with 55 scientific publications covering a variety of aerospace medicine topics. He is also a faculty member at Wright State University School of Medicine, the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, and the National University of Colombia School of Medicine.
Melchor is a Fellow and Past-President of the Aerospace Medical Association, Past-President of the Space Medicine Association, Past-President of the Iberoamerican Association of Aerospace Medicine, Chancellor of the International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine, Fellow of the Aerospace Human Factors Association, member of the International Academy of Astronautics, Honorary Member of the Colombian Society of Aviation Medicine, Honorary Member of the Greek Aerospace Medical Association, the Brazilian Society of Aerospace Medicine, the Mexican Society of Aviation Medicine, the Slovanian Aerospace Medical Association, and the Turkish Civil Aviation Medicine Association, as well as many other national and international professional societies in aerospace medicine.
He has received 72 awards and recognitions for his academic, administrative, and research achievements. These awards include the John A. Tamisiea Memorial Award and the Eric Liljencrantz Award from the Aerospace Medical Association, the DOT Secretary’s Award for Meritorious Achievement: Silver Medal, the Outstanding Manager Award from the FAA Office of Aerospace Medicine, the Arthur S. Fleming Award from George Washington University, and the Young Investigator Award from the Space Medicine Association. He also received a Congressional Certificate of Recognition for Contributions to Improve Aviation Safety in Colombia through Continuing Medical Education from the House of Representatives of the Republic of Colombia and was named Honorary Federal Air Surgeon by the Director General of the Civil Aviation Authority of the Dominican Republic.
Watch 2008 IAC: Open Plenary. Listen to Melchor on The Space Show hosted by Dr. David Livingston. Read his LinkedIn profile.